About Us

The Alaska Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics is the largest association of food & nutrition professionals in the state of Alaska and is an affiliate of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Membership in this Association is limited to members of the Academy who designate Alaska as their affiliate of choice.


If you are a member and are unable to access this portion of the site, please contact us.

2022/2023 AKAND Board Members

Executive Board Members
President: Ladonna Dean MDA, RD, LD, SNS
President-Elect: Open position
Past President: Haley Hughes
Secretary: Caraline Tompkins
Treasurer: Kathy Nunez
Delegate: Seth Anderson MSNS, RD, LD
Communications Coordinator: Camille Irvine MS, RDN, LD
Nominating Committee: Melissa Chlupach MS, RD, LD, Carissa Kiefer, 1 open seat

Appointed Members

State Policy Coordinator/State Regulatory Specialist: Open position

Media Representative/PR Chair: Keriann Shine BS, RD, LD

Public Policy Coordinator: Ashley Funk

Diversity Liaison: Theresa Reynolds

Consumer Protection Coordinator: Kelly Lakin

Professional Issues/Reimbursement: Open position

Board Member Schedule

The AKAND Board meets monthly on the first Wednesday of each month, from 12:00-1:00 pm. All-member socials open are held throughout the year, immediately following board meetings. Unless otherwise indicated, all meetings are held in person with tele- and video-conference options for members unable to meet in person.